Minutes ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Saturday, January 9, 2005

1. Call to Order.

President Langan called the meeting to order at 12: 55 P.M.

2. Appointment of Secretary Pro-tem.

Barbara Hilkert Andolsen was appointed Secretary Pro-tem.

3. Appointment of Parliamentarian.

Timothy O'Connell was appointed Parliamentarian.

4. Approval of Minutes of Saturday, January 10, 2004.

The Minutes of the 2004 Annual Business Meeting were approved.

5. Commemoration of Deceased Members.

Marvin Ellison offered a memorial minute for Eleanor Haney. Thomas Shannon read a memorial written by Ruth Smith honoring her uncle, Walter Muelder. Sumner Twiss provided a commemoration for John Giles Milhaven. The Society also announced the deaths of John Lawrence Groves and F. Burton Nelson.

6. New Members Recognition.

President Langan welcomed the new members to the Society, as well as those who have transferred from student to full-term membership. Each group stood and received the welcome of the members of the Society.

7. Report of the Nominating Committee and Election of Officers.

David Smith came forward to give the report of the Nominating Committee and to conduct the election of officers. He began by thanking the members of the Nominating Committee: Sondra Wheeler, Amy Laura Hall, Stewart Herman and Brian Stiltner.

Smith read the slate as published and then invited nominations from the floor. No nominations were made. Nominations were closed, and ballots were distributed to those members in good standing who were in attendance -- including those newly elected to membership. Members of the Nominating Committee collected all ballots and began the counting. The meeting continued.

Later in the Meeting the results of the elections were announced as follows:

Jean Porter succeeded to the position of President; William Werpehowski was elected Vice-President. Daniel Finn, Thomas Massaro, S.J. and Julie Hanlon Rubio were elected to the Board.

David Smith, on behalf of Society, thanked all those who stood for election. The Society also expressed its gratitude for the service of the outgoing members of the Board: M. Cathleen Kaveny, James F. Keenan, S.J. and Stephen J. Pope.

8. President's Report.

- a. Appointments and announcements
 - 1) A nominating committee has been appointed. Audrey Chapman will serve as chair. The other committee members are William McDonough, Susan Ross, Darryl Trimiew, and Allen Verhey.
 - 2) Professional Conduct Committee Report

Rebekah Miles submitted a report indicating that there were no cases calling for the Committee's review during the past year.

The designated persons to be notified of any charge of professional misconduct are Rebekah Miles, Emilie Townes, and Allen Verhey. These persons serve until the annual meeting in 2006.

3) As President of the CSSR and in response to last year's decision of the Board to withdraw from full membership in the CSSR, Glen Stassen formally asked the Board to consider becoming an affiliate member. The Board voted to seek affiliate membership status with CSSR and instructed the Executive Director to make a formal application.

The President explained that the Board's decision reflected both the Society's desire to maintain a constructive connection to the CSSR as that organization plans for a positive future and the Board's responsibility for prudent stewardship of the SCE's funds. The President mentioned that dues as an affiliate of the CSSR will be substantially lower than dues as a full member.

- 4) The Board received a report from the Executive Director's Office Task Force. Because of growth in membership of the Society and increasing levels of services provided by the Executive Director's office, a review of the structure of the office was proposed. Board member David Smith has agreed to chair an ongoing Task Force to investigate options and to recommend appropriate changes.
- 5) Two search committees have been constituted. One will seek candidates for Coeditors of the Journal, and the other with search for candidates for Executive Director. Margaret Mohrmann will chair the Co-editors search committee. Other members

- include Aaron Stalnaker, Philip J. Rossi, and Pamela Brubaker. David Smith will chair the search committee for the Executive Director.
- 6) The Board approved an Interest Group Policy designed to maintain groups in a vigorous condition without imposing unnecessarily cumbersome reporting requirements. The policy, dated January 6, 2005, was distributed; a copy is attached to the copy of record of these minutes.
- b. The President expressed the warm thanks of the entire Society to those who contributed to the International Speakers Fund.
- 9. Executive Director's Report.
 - a Financial Report. A Statement of the financial position and a statement of financial activities for the financial years ending June 30, 2004 and 2003 were distributed. The Executive Director explained that the \$14,575 sum listed as Temporarily Restricted Funds represented the money collected for the International Speakers Fund. The financial reports were received without questions by the members present.
 - b. Membership Update. The Executive Director provided the following information concerning membership changes and dues records for 2004 and 2005 [to date].

	2004	2005
Full Life Retired Student	663 23 108 207	760 23 106 208
Inactive	106	170
Total	1107	1267

Dues payment – as of January 4, 2005, only 462 members had paid their 2005 dues; 805 members had dues outstanding.

- c. Meeting attendance. The Executive Director announced that 365 people preregistered for the 2005 meeting. The meeting had a total of 424 attendees.
- d. Future meeting venues were announced as follows:

2006 Phoenix – January 5-8 – Hotel Regency Phoenix 2007 Dallas 2008 Atlanta

The Executive Director strongly urged member to book hotel rooms early. She explained that, if the Society's block of hotel rooms fills by July or August, meeting organizers have more leverage to negotiate an increase in the room block. Particularly when the

Society meets in warm locations, where January is high season, it is more difficult (or impossible) to increase the block later.

10. Report on the *Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics*. The co-editors of the Journal reported that format changes, strengthening the intellectual caliber of the Journal, had been completed. They also noted with appreciation that a search for their successors is about to begin.

11. Old Business.

There was no old business.

12. New Business.

A motion to amend the By-laws of the Society, which was submitted to the membership by the Board, was presented by Vice-president Jean Porter. A copy of those changes is attached to the copy of record of these minutes.

Porter explained that, for the past three years, the Board had been examining the By-laws of the Society in order to insure that they conform to state law in Tennessee where the Society is incorporated. Based on that review, the Board was recommending several changes to the By-laws.

After discussion, the question was called. The call for the question having succeeded, the motion was brought to a voice vote. The ayes were in the majority; there were negative votes voiced. The motion passed.

The members joined Porter in expressing their thanks for the work that M. Cathleen Kaveny had done in crafting these by-laws amendments.

13. Adjournment.

There being no other new business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted

Barbara Hilkert Andolsen Secretary Pro-tem, 2005