Program Committee

The Program Committee shall have authority to determine the content of the program of the SCE Annual Meeting, with the exception of the SCE plenary speakers and conference theme, which shall be chosen by the President.  The Program Committee shall be chaired by the President and shall include the Presidential Cabinet (ex officio with voice and with vote) and one member (not necessarily a member of the Board) appointed by the president for that year only. The Program Committee shall also include the Editor or co-editors (ex officio with voice and with vote) and at least three additional members appointed by the President from the elected members of the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors or, with the approval of the Board of Directors, the Program Committee itself, shall have the authority to include more participants in the selection process, provided that (1) the additional members be restricted to preliminary electronic voting only, (2) the additional members and the terms of their appointment shall be communicated to the membership as a whole, and (3) no less than 60 percent of the votes deciding the content of the program shall be cast by representatives elected directly by the membership as a whole.  Weighted voting may be used.

The Program Committee selects proposals and designs the program for the Annual Meeting, largely through a blind electronic ballot carried out before the Committee actually gathers in March or April. This selection process includes those serving on the Program Committee plus one vote from each of the Working Groups, the Women’s Caucus, and the Students’ Caucus.

David P. Gushee's picture
David P. Gushee
Mercer University
Distinguished Univ Professor of Christian Ethics

dianeyeager's picture
Diane M. Yeager
Georgetown University
Associate Professor

Patricia Jung's picture
Patricia Beattie Jung

Jennifer Herdt's picture
Jennifer A. Herdt
Yale Divinity School
Associate Professor of Theology

ReggieWilliams's picture
Reggie L. Williams
McCormick Theological Seminary
Assistant Professor

AngelaSims's picture
Angela Sims
Saint Paul School of Theology

Sharon Tan's picture
Sharon Mei Tan
United Theological Seminary of the Twin Cities
Asst Professor of Christian Ethics

KevinCarnahan's picture
Kevin M. Carnahan
Central Methodist University
Associate Professor of Philosophy & Religion

Scott Paeth's picture
Scott Ronald Paeth
DePaul University
Professor of Religious Studies

Elizabeth Hinson-Hasty's picture
Elizabeth Hinson-Hasty
Bellarmine University

Linda Schreiber's picture
Linda D. Schreiber
Society of Christian Ethics
Executive Administrator